IGNORED

Only 39% of Americans believe in evolution

celestial

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not really as the study said lack of education and more church. It has been education that has reduced violent death and made us live longer.

Ignorance makes us primitive and hateful and fearful.

That's because evolution is not taught in public schools, and when it *is* taught, it must be "balanced" with a non-scientific viewpoint. People are being told in schools that they need to choose between religion and verifiable fact, a false dichotomy. So evolution remains a vague, strange idea that involves chimps and early people mating, and only college-level science students ever get to witness the simplicity and elegance of the idea.

I'm pretty sure I started learning the basic concepts of evolution in public middle school and certainly had the theory more fleshed out in high school. I'm flabbergasted that more people don't believe in it. I don't think there was anything extraordinary about my schools.

I was taught evolution in public high school, but only the most rudimentary elements. If the teacher had taken another hour, he could have gotten into the four basic principles of Darwin's theory and various ways we can see them proven around us. Also, this was during the early nineties, when teens in California were also practicing putting a condom on a banana and being tested on the merits of different types of contraception. The world has changed.