IGNORED

Scholarly references on Patriarchy?

refugee

Hello. One of our teens is writing a college paper on the evils of patriarchy, springboarding off our family's involvement in the lifestyle before we left, and the fallout we continue to see in former friends and in healing our own wounds.

The kid is looking for opinions and articles that can be cited in an academic paper. I've got Joyce's quiverfull book on hold at the library. Websites are okay, but they have to be "credible sources" -- a blog is not considered a credible source for academic purposes. Also two scholarly articles are needed for this paper.

Anybody got other suggestions on resources?

Thanks.

I am a retired college professor.  Goals  of a research assignment include locating and evaluating sources, as a means to help the student improve his or her analytical skills.

If the student is unable to locate and evaluate sources, then he or she should change topics.

Hi! Some recent scholarly publications include "Disturbing the data: looking into gender and family size matters with US Evangelical homeschoolers" by Melissa Sherfinski and Melissa Chesanko, which was reprinted this month in Gender, Place & Culture: A Journal of Feminist Geography.

Another one that might be helpful is "My Quiver is Bigger than Yours: Metaphor, Gender, and Ideology in Quiverfull Discourse," by Andrea Terry in the Fall 2014 issue of Journal of Communication & Religion.

To get hold of these, since these are pretty recent articles and some schools take a while to keep current on their journal collections, your kid will want to find out if their college library has a good Interlibrary Loan program, which they can use to order scans or copies of articles from other libraries. You all should be able to find this out by checking the library website, or going to the front desk and asking!

45 minutes ago, gustava said: