Abigail has been warned that her current pregnancy could have problems with the placenta, so she had been on modified bed rest and enduring a lot of other restrictions. She just went to see a high-risk OBGYN, who told her that the placenta was fine, but also that she should get a tubal ligation after her C-section. Abigail explains that this isn't an option because she is Catholic. The doctor says that he is Catholic too, and suggest that she get sterilized without telling anyone.

So, how much of this exchange do you think actually happened?

abigails-alcove.blogspot.com/2014/08/the-struggle-to-be-both-faithful-and.html

Wow, I've been lurking a long time, but I had a baby and just finished summer term sooo ....

I wouldn't doubt at least some of it happened. My mom encountered a similar conversation when she was pregnant with my youngest brother and facing a fourth cesarean. Personally, if I was a doctor and the response I got from suggesting a tubal was "But I'm Catholic!" I'd just nod politely and make sure I clearly cover the risks of subsequent pregnancies and cesareans and then drop it. There's absolutely no use in getting into it with someone who is the World's Best Catholic on these things.

What's more concerning to me is the panic attack that ensued after her consult. She's clearly terrified of the risk of another pregnancy and birth, but she's convinced that her only way to avoid it 10 years of abstinence.

Oh, and the "abortion as back up for sterilization"? :wtf: Why would that automatically be where your brain would go?