IGNORED

Little Rock, Ak says teachers must wear underwear and bras!!

Chowder Head

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply
http://news.yahoo.com/little-rock-school-district-now-teachers-wear-underwear-030208103.html

As a teacher I would be mortified if my principal did underwearchecks. WTH TMI people. :pink-shock: :shock: :o

The underwear thing is crazy. How will they know if someone is wearing underwear?

I dont think its unrealistic to ask teachers to wear business casual dress. It would also be reasonable to have exceptions for some teachers like gym teachers. I dont like the way they worded their dress code though. My work says nothing about specific clothing items. But, they are clear that employees must be in business casual dress. We are adults and can figure out what that means.

They cannot require bras for women if they don't require them for men.

Disparate Impact Claims

Complaints about dress codes also may manifest themselves as

disparate impact claims. To establish a disparate impact claim

under Title VII, employees do not need to show intentional dis-

crimination; rather, they only need to show that the dress code has

a disparate impact on one protected class.

In Dothard v. Rawlinson the U.S. Supreme Court set forth the steps for proving dis-

parate impact. The Court explained:

[O]nce it is shown that the employment standards are discrimi-

natory in effect, the employer must meet “the burden of showing

that any given requirement [has] . . . a manifest relationship to

the employment in question.†If the employer proves that the

challenged requirements are job related, the plaintiff may then

show that other selection devices without a similar discrimina-

tory effect would also “serve the employer’s legitimate interest in

‘efficient’ and trustworthy workmanship.