IGNORED

Study: Atheists more driven by compassion

dawn9476

Newbie here - I was just going to post the same thing as my introduction!

Instead I will just say, happy to be here amongst mostly like-minded humans, and where compassion is not a dirty word.

It makes sense, doesn't it? Atheists show compassion without any expectation of heavenly reward--they're doing it because it's the decent thing to do.

*clinks glasses with SheWhoIsObeyed*

I especially like the part that says religious folk give due to "reputational concerns."

Just a thought, but I might not be as driven to give because of seeing a disaster on TV because I give to charities regularly already. One of them is there to help with disasters and tragedies that arise. I don't find it less compassionate to give to a food bank quarterly than to give when there is a call for a disaster or for holiday dinners.

Instead I will just say, happy to be here amongst mostly like-minded humans, and where compassion is not a dirty word.

Compassion needs empathy, the ability to stand in another's shoes. Religionists don't like secular shoes, we're too sinful and dirty :roll: Then there are followers of the Christ, who seem to care more about walking the walk rather than just talking the talk. Like their empathy their compassion can be boundless.

I highly doubt the recipients of largesse care what motivates the giver, be it compassion, concern for reputation, hope of heavenly reward, or whatever. I also would like to know more about how the study concluded that atheists were more "generous." I'm not saying it's not true, but I would like to know the methodology. They cite that nonreligious people are more likely to do a random act of kindness, perhaps buy a homeless person a meal; how does that compare with, say, a churchgoer's weekly stint in her congregation's soup kitchen; or a religious person's nonreligious volunteer work to, say, teach English as a second language? It all seems rather subjective......