IGNORED

Spanking is a right

luckylibrarian

One of my friends from high school (who went from stoner to fundie lite since HS) just posted an article from Circle of Moms about the Texas mother who got five years probation for spanking her 2 yr old.

My friend posted the following on FB: "That judge should be spanked. Spanking is a right, and if it's legal for teachers to spank their students, then parents should be allowed to spank."

Now, last time I checked, spanking isn't a right. And I don't see the correlation between spanking in schools and spanking at home. The 2 yr old isn't school age, and the mother left welts. Presumably, the spanking that occurs in schools - while still wrong - is on clothing and won't leave marks.

ETA: What is Circle of Moms anyway? Is it a Christian thing?

Wait, since when has it been legal to spank students in school? I graduated from the public school system in 2010 and I was under the impression that if a teacher or administrator raised a hand against us they would be fired, sued, and probably arrested.

The Christian schools my brother and I went to as kids had spanking provisions which the parents signed off of if they would allow it.... I think even the Lutheran one we went to did. My brother was spanked once by the principal, I think around age 10, but I never saw it enforced otherwise.

I believe parents have the right to spank. I don't believe parents have the right to beat or abuse.

I don't believe the schools should have the right to do any of the above.

-handcuff

I graduated from high school in 1999. Up until about 1990 or so, paddling was the primary form of punishment at my elementary school. After 1990, there was a more liberal principal who preferred other methods, but it was still allowed. One of the teachers would paddle every student publicly as a big joke on their birthday. I thought it was humiliating, and it certainly didn't feel like a joke.