IGNORED

Free Speech? Not so much suspened over Poem

Chowder Head

A junior foot ball player was given an assignment in English class to write poem about a something he was passiant about. He wrote apoem about how he felt ablout the culture of the football team. He was suspended for bulling. :o

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/highschoo ... 05586.html

http://fox8.com/2013/10/22/high-school- ... over-poem/

No names were ever mentioned. Other than this is no where near bulling how or why did he get 4 days. As a teacher I have seen kids get a day or two for fighting maybe bulling never.

Oh, Ohio High School football. When I saw it was Ohio, i thought it might be Massilon- to say they're BIG on football is an understatement. But Rittman? The article said they had a 1-7 season. This is just small-town don't-insult-the-powers-that-be bullshit.

Update, the suspension has been overturned: http://fox8.com/2013/10/24/school-offic ... verturned/

But like RosyDaisy said, he's probably got a target on his back now.

And in a "It's a small world after all" moment, I know someone who lives in Rittman, and out of curiosity just checked their child's facebook page. Child is a friend with the boy in this article, same class, but doesn't have any commentary about this situation.

The penalty seems really over-the-top, and I'm glad it was overturned.

OTOH, I can understand the school stepping in if one student is standing up and blatantly insulting another student in front of the entire class.

Did he read it aloud in class?

If yes, I would suggest a sit down with a guidance counselor or maybe some conflict resolution counseling. If not, then a quiet word from the teacher after class-or the teacher speaks to another teacher that has a better relationship with the student.

This really shouldn't have gone to a punishment scenario at all unless the kids spray painted it onto a fucking locker or something.

Did he read it aloud in class?