IGNORED

Are there any believers who admired Hitchens?

finleeport

Atheists/non-believers cannot be the only people who were influenced by Christopher Hitchens.

I don't think you'll believe me, but I really admired and liked the man, despite that I'm a Christian.

Before I heard of him, I was an all black-and-white morally absolute Christian, and hearing what he said shook my faith and everything I believed in. I became obsessed with his work and reading other things about Dawkins and Harris etc. But then I came to realize that most things he said was true and very bold to say.

I started studying on other religions, mostly paganism, and I found it very interesting. I don't know why I didn't become an atheist, I just thought atheists cannot be the only intelligent, sensible people.

But all thanks to Hitchens, I began to see things clearly, think logically and rationally, live life as it is and explore the possibilities. I may be still a Christian but I abhor all theocracies.

As for the Christofascists who say he's in hell, they wish. There's no Hell for Christopher, He's at peace. Man do I love this guy's balls (figuratively speaking that is) he was the greatest. I will admit that he was harsh and slightly unfair in his criticism, but he had his reasons.

I wonder what he would thought of a person like me?

RIP Christopher.

Who else was influenced by Hitchens despite your beliefs of any kind?

When I was still an evangelical, I admired him for his obvious superior intellect and his courage in taking on some of the sacred cows in our culture (Mother Teresa, for example).

Rick Warren = :music-tool:

His brother Peter, conservative and devout Anglican, posted a rather moving piece about his brother in his blog at the Mail Online.

His brother Peter, conservative and devout Anglican, posted a rather moving piece about his brother in his blog at the Mail Online.