IGNORED

Yoga

crazyforkate

Not exactly a "sport", but does anyone here do it? I try to get between 20-60 minutes in each day, using routines I found online. It's a surprisingly strong workout! My goal is to learn at least one arm balance. Those things are hard! One of these days I definitely want to try hot yoga.

I love yoga. I've been doing it for almost 10 years now. I've tried a bunch of styles, but the one I really like is Ashtanga yoga, which is a very athletic version.

I'm glad you started this thread - I was thinking about starting a yoga thread but held back! I've been doing yoga for a little over 7 years, at times more intensely than others. I started with Iyengar yoga back in my early 20s, which I really like, but is very trying for the patience of a beginner, because sometimes it just feels like your instructor is picking on you for every stupid little thing. I learned in a really good environment because the class was small, only 4 people, and offered for free by a co-worker doing volunteer hours towards her teacher training. The teacher was able to give us all enough individual attention that we really progressed quite quickly, and if you can stand the constant adjustment, Iyengar gives you a great foundation for yoga, and a detailed understanding of what all the parts of your body should be doing in most poses.

I picked up a 2nd Iyengar class later in my 20s at a community center, and it was unfortunately super annoying. The instructor was condescending and we spent so long on going through the most basic beginner stuff that I felt I didn't really learn anything. It was filled with people much older than I was who were really cliquey, and I felt excluded, which probably coloured my experience. My goal was to progress to level 2 and 3 Iyengar after toughing it out through this introductory course, but I didn't enjoy the atmosphere created by this instructor so I didn't continue.