IGNORED

The Rise of Biblical Counseling - Kathryn Joyce

Rita

Kathryn Joyce (books: Child Catchers, Quiverfull) has a new article out in Pacific Standard magazine on the issues with treating issues with 'biblical counseling.' It starts out pretty tough, suicide trigger warning.

psmag.com/navigation/health-and-behavior/evangelical-prayer-bible-religion-born-again-christianity-rise-biblical-counseling-89464/

"In biblical counseling, most psychological distress is rooted in sin, and the path to healing lies in confession and repentance."

"No confidentiality is assumed, and counselors are often committed to working with the clients’ pastors and church leaders."

"It sounds like tough love, but the difference, says Arms, is that biblical counselors believe the Holy Spirit will bring about change—a conviction he expects will sound strange to secular ears."

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm a psychologist and this is horrifying. Nowhere near therapy - just a neat combo of guilt, propaganda and control.

BabyFullOfSin, I'm a psychologist too... The likelihood of harm here is overwhelming.

Psychologist here, I totally agree with my colleagues!!

The Bible is a man-made book. Ridiculous. Sorry for the people sucked in by this garbage.

Most of these counselors don't even have degrees. My BIL once got counseling through his church for an addiction. Counselor never even went to college. I think she did more harm than good.

I went through biblical counseling. I don't want to talk about it, but I will say this: it was made clear that confidentially was expected. In fact, that is why I went to biblical counseling; no other therapist would give me a straight answer on confidentially. But the biblical counselor trusted me when I said my parents finding out would be a bad thing.

So, it might be different for other people but for many other people I know the counseling we received WAS confidential, unless we told her we were planning to kill ourself.