IGNORED

Josie's ear infection

homeschoolmomma1

I'm not a doctor but do a lot of ear infections in babies cause deafness? I know I am asking an odd questions but I was just wondering

I had a lot of ear infections as a young child, mostly in my right ear. I definitely have some loss in that ear but its hardly a big deal. I never had tubes...

When I was a little kid, ear infections were always accompanied by hearing problems. That's how my parents knew I had infections because I never experienced any pain with the infections.

My hearing doesn't seem to be affected now though. Hopefully Josie will be fine.

I think depending on the severity and frequency it can cause permanent problems, but it's usually fine if they're treated right away

I think it also depends on the type, the last infection I had was in the labyrinth, cause vertigo like no bodies business but no real risk of hearing loss because it didn't affect the actual hearing part of the ear.

I was born with double ear infections and had my first set of tubes before I was even 3 months old. The last set of tubes was around 10 years old I think with many, many surgeries in between. Sadly for me they never worked as they should have but thankfully I can hear today for the most part. Different accents can be hard or picking out sounds in noisy backgrounds. I have a very hard time hearing the microwave, oven timer or dryer timer if the TV is on or kids are making noise but I have learned how to handle it by sticking close by when the cookies or dryer is done.

I don't see anything abnormal with Josie getting tubes as some preemies like mine never need them and some do long before this. It seems like the doctor had given a wait and lets see if this is an on going thing attitude before deciding to go ahead and doing the surgery.

Bet you all 10 to 1 that we will see the surgery. Which is to bad as most babies/children just need their parents and lovie during this time and nothing else.