IGNORED

Pew report discovers cultural Catholics are a thing

2xx1xy1JD

http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/arc ... qus_thread (unbroken, news magazine)

9% of American Catholics say they are Catholic, but Catholicism is not their religion.

The only thing I found surprising about this was the fact that anyone else found it surprising. Then again, my background is very different from an American Protestant - my parents are from Montreal, and religion in Montreal was very much a reflection of one's ethnicity, not personal choice. Until relatively recently, Protestant and Catholic children went to different school, and ethnic areas are dense and sharply defined (for example, my parents attended a public high school that was about 99% Jewish).

Do others here find that this is a natural or easy concept to understand, or does the notion of a religious identity that doesn't match actual religious belief seem puzzling?

I definitely think cultural religion is a thing. I'm in a very heavily Mormon area, and it definitely shows in the all around culture. Even those who actively hate the LDS church still kind of identify with it, just because it's such an all-encompassing religion that it soaks into every aspect of your life.

Even though my mom wasn't ever active in the church, we have significant familial history within the church. My mom once told me that if Mormonism was an ethnicity, I would have more Mormon in my blood than a lot of people.

Additionally, my dad grew up in a very strict Catholic family. Even though he disagrees with every religion ever, if you ask him, he'll still call himself Catholic, just because he identifies with that group, not because he actually believes in a lot of what they say.

I guess what I'm trying to say is when you grow up in a heavily religious atmosphere, it's going to be a part of who you are, even if you aren't an active believer in the religion. Religions as a cultural thing makes perfect sense to me.