IGNORED

How do VF Followers usually view American History?

tabitha2

I mean other than WWII stuff and the myth of true women hood because Deanna Coghlan posted this on FB and it seem oddly rancourous:

I just was randomly struck with a curiosity as to how many of my friends are aware of the fact that President Lincoln was a low, disgusting, godless, lying, cruel, scoundrel who didn't give a flip for African slaves.

I know about the slave part-he said himself he would soon as not freed any slaves-but the rest I don't get.

I think most of the ones we follow only look at history for a) fabulous dress-up ideas or b) proof that they're right.

I'm no Lincoln expert, I know a little of him...

The low part I can understand, he grew up in a cabin on the frontier in Kentucky. He was poor and illiterate until his step mother taught him to read. Unless they meant 'low' in a different sense than social status, in which case I don't know.

Godless is kind of a half truth. He was a kind of agnostic/a deist until his son Willie tragically died. Apparently the preacher caused him to experience a religious conversion. He kept a copy of the sermon and from that point on believed God was vested in his life.

The slave thing is not altogether true either. After this experience he became convinced that the Civil War was a calling from God and that he must continue with the effort in order to free the slaves.

He also said this in a letter in 1855 to Joshua Steed: