IGNORED

Difference bt the amish and a mennonite (spelling)

treemom

lindsay says (06/10/11 10:53:41)

can someone help me out here? my bf moved to montana and encounters tons of mennonites (spelling). We are wondering about the difference between them and the amish, because some customs sound familiar.

Since I have no experience with either groups besides literature, I would like to know what the differences are

THanks guys!

Lindsay Says

ruralWI.mothersagainstp... (06/10/11 11:13:35)

Since he is in MT, he could be encountering either Amish, Hutterites, or Mennonites.

They all have varying rules- it would be pages and pages a post to even go into just a basic premise of their beliefs.

GO to wikipedia and look up each branch. Hutterites are the only branch that are communal of the three. The rest are family-based.

Alecto (06/10/11 14:57:56)

Also, each individual church in each individual group has different beliefs and cultural expectations.

xDreamerx (06/10/11 15:07:32)

As far as I know, the Mennonites are a group that split off from the Amish. They have common beliefs but split over doctrinal issues. The Amish aren't a homogeneous group either. There are Old Order, New Order, Beachy Amish, and Swartzentruber Amish. There might even be other groups but those are the ones I know.

Doc Sharon4321 (06/10/11 15:14:09)

The Mennonites were around first. The Amish were originally Mennonites who broke away because they felt the Mennonite church wasn't conservative enough.