IGNORED

Bread baking amateur--tips appreciated.

ThisOlGirl

Actually, I'm a baking/cooking in general amateur. I've been baking my own bread for about the last 6 months, and I've got white, baked in a bread machine bread down. So I just tried to bake a whole wheat loaf, and the results were pretty embarrassing. I don't even know how to describe it. The dough was in "ropes" (for lack of a better word), it didn't rise, but it was baked. My yeast hasn't expired, it's the same yeast I used a week ago for my white bread. I made sure I bought whole wheat bread flour (at least that's what the label on the bulk bin said). Is wheat bread something that's not do-able in a bread machine? I feel like I'm ready to try my hand at actually baking bread in an oven, so maybe this is the perfect time to start.

Any tips are greatly appreciated. I just want my kid to stop laughing at me. :D

Did you use a whole wheat bread recipe or the same white bread recipe just substituting the wheat flour? I'm not sure what you mean by "ropes" (photos would be appreciated). I suspect that you might have not had enough water in the dough or that it was overkneaded.

I've finally found a recipe that is perfect almost every time- I don't know if it's the eggs, or what the difference is. I've even used freshly ground wheat flour, added seeds of all sorts, and still had light, fluffy bread as a result. I generally use regular whole wheat flour, and add things like flax, chia, sunflower seeds, etc.

4 cups whole wheat Flour

1/2 tbsp Salt

1/3 cup Sugar

2 tbsp instant Yeast

Make a well, and add:

2 eggs

1/2 cup oil

4 cups very warm water

More flour

Knead to make a good, elasticy dough, and set in a covered bowl to rise. Punch down 3 times, every 15 minutes. On the 4th time, punch down and form into loaves or buns.

Bake at 350 until well browned and done

Thanks everyone! I always forget about Youtube. Once I have the whole wheat bread thing figured out, I'lll be on to conquering sourdough.