IGNORED

When does courting begin?

Kitty

So, I've been wondering about dating, relationships, marriage, and age. Like, a lot of people my age are getting married (I graduated high school in 2010. wtf.). I live in conservative, rural North Carolina, so yeah, it's kind of easy to see why everyone seems to be in a rush. But courtship is likely unheard of here, and I can't find any info on any other part of the interwebs, so...

What age does courting start? I assumed that it started early, like 17, but from what I've seen on FJ it seems like it's around 19 or 20, later than I expected. :?

Depends on the family. The Maxwell's are noted for having "elderly" unmarried (and non-courting) kids.

The range I know personally goes from 16 (yes really) into the 30's, so a pretty big variance.

A lot fundies plan to start courtships very early, around 16 or so. But when their kids actually reach that age, it usually don't work out as smoothly as they planned, because most 16 year-olds just aren't ready to be parents (which is the purpose of courtship and marriage). The boys need to have a steady career for any young virtuous maiden's father to consider him, and the girls are often needed at home to care for younger siblings. So it does seem that 19-20 is a common age of courtship. For all their talk about having as many arrows as possible, they are still willing to do the reasonable thing and miss out on those 2-3 potential kids that could be born to teenagers. There are rumors that Josh Duggar was courting/engaged/betrothed/whatever when he was a teenager though. If it's true then it didn't work out, which could be why all his siblings are waiting so long.

I don't see that.The majority of families we talk about have children almost 30 with no sign of prospects-the Staddons,Maxwells,Servens,Wissmans are notable.