IGNORED

Why does organized religion degrade women so much?

AtroposHeart

I have been studying religion for many years and have noticed a near universal theme in all organized religions from Christianity to Buddhism is that they all somehow look down on women and put them in lesser position.

Christianity, Judaism, Taoism, and Buddhism all right about menstruation as something that makes the women unclean.

Most of them will not allow women into higher positions or teaching rules unless it is too children, and that is only a recent development.

I guess that is why I got so disillusioned with mainstream religion because they all seemed to talk of me as if I was less for the unforgivable sin of being female.

I just wonder....why is this?

Probably because it was created by men and were invented in a time where women were treated like maids/sex slaves/property of men.

They're jealous they can't produce life, and they're anxious that their woman's baby may not really be their see.

Basic insecurity and inadequacy.

They're jealous they can't produce life, and they're anxious that their woman's baby may not really be their see.

Basic insecurity and inadequacy.

This.

Apparently the generic of "men" is dumbfounded and fearful of the generic of "women".

This reminds me of a converstation I had with my husband a while back. He's religious and I am not so our discussions as you can imagine are interesting at times. I looked at him and said try and sell me religion to me as a woman, because as far as I can see we constantly get shit on. He didn't have a good response and was irritated that I just wasn't all "Oh God Loves me and that makes it okay if religion and the bible treats me like I am a second class human being."