IGNORED

Sample sex-ed curriculum - feel free to comment or snark

2xx1xy1JD

After the constant stream of insanity over abstinence-only sex-ed, referring to women seeking birth control as "sluts", creepy purity balls, etc., I've decided to post a draft of my sex-ed curriculum.

http://jrkmommy-personalandpolitical.bl ... culum.html

I'm sure I forgot something, so feel free to comment, add suggestions, snark, tell me that I'm going to hell for corrupting my kids, etc.

I'd add a topic "Sexual Gratification outside of intercourse" and discuss solo and mutual masturbation as a vehicle for safe sex and delaying intercourse.

As a student, I absolutely hated "interview a" or "job shadow" assignments. They might be hard to come by, or it might be a huge hassle in a family with two working parents. I was great with school assignments that had to do with books or stuff learned in-school, but stuff requiring extra money or time tended to be ignored. And with much of this, you want to start fairly young, pre-teen, so driving places independently isn't really an option.

I may have missed it as i only scanned through it but i didnt see anything on unwanted pregnancy. Factual info about options and what they entail.

I'd also include info on dental dams, and how to use a condom properly, female condoms and where to get them for free (most public health offices have baskets full of them on the counters).

As a student, I absolutely hated "interview a" or "job shadow" assignments. They might be hard to come by, or it might be a huge hassle in a family with two working parents. I was great with school assignments that had to do with books or stuff learned in-school, but stuff requiring extra money or time tended to be ignored. And with much of this, you want to start fairly young, pre-teen, so driving places independently isn't really an option.