IGNORED

Dressing in Victorian Drag

The Archivist

I love vintage and reproduction clothing, and have for a long time. In fact, that's where I had my first brush with fundieness without even realizing it - I stumbled on Jennie Chancey's website back in 1997 when looking up pictures of vintage styles ( sensibility.com/ .)

This morning, I stumbled on something new - I found this blog interesting, a bit charming, and the costumes she sews are beautiful.

romantichistory.blogspot.com

Please allow me to introduce Sarah Jane:

I am 25 years old. I am a wife to a Beloved Husband, mother to three precious little boys, an eager student of Cookery, Sewing, Making a Pleasant Home and Living a Godly Life. I am an attempted writer, sometimes poet, sometimes singer, lover of Beauty, lover of Song, lover of Christ. I am the oldest of five siblings, a Homeschool Alumni and plan on training up my own children at home, for Christ.

Okay, so in addition to making awesome vintage costumes, she's kinda fundie. Sure, okay.

However, scratch the surface and it starts getting weird:

And now I must conclude this blog post. I have a squirming child with the longest lashed blue eyes possible on my lap who needs a fat homemade cinnamon-bun and a glass of cold milk for breakfast. As I look outside the window we have next to our computer I see the wind blowing the tall, tall green grass in the "back pasture" with smoke-colored Mr. Nathan B. Forrest blithefully bounding through it, his tail gracefully pliant.

First: the writing style. Seriously? I mean seriously?

I actually reeeeeeally understand the temptation to write in the style of your favorite Victorian authors, since I too am a big old geek, but when you actually do it, it comes out sounding so horribly unnatural and pretentious that it can be difficult to read.

Second: the horse is named Nathan B. Forrest? Really?