IGNORED

A Look at Bria Crawford's Latest Article

Burris

Having read and deconstructed a fair number of Kelly Crawford's articles, I thought it might be interesting to examine a blog post by her oldest daughter, Bria.

Before I continue in this exercise, however, I want to touch on my own background – especially in case Bria Crawford makes her way over here to check out what I've written.

Now, I've been a writer for well over ten years. I even have a BA in English..Some people may disagree with my content. They may even dislike my style. But no one, anywhere, could rightly accuse me of hating the discipline.

I love everything about writing. I read style-books not only for professional development but also for fun.

Reading and writing dominate my leisure time. Not surprisingly, then, I also love to teach other people about writing. (Tip: One key to writing well is to be an avid reader - and deep, if possible.)

It's in this spirit that I take a closer look at the first article I've ever read by Bria, who is still fairly young.

Through another thread, I came across a link (via Acheronbeach) to the third part in a series Bria has written on the importance of imagination.

The title: “Imagination is Dwindling.†(She certainly seems to have inherited Kelly's pessimism.)

Bria believes reading good books is an important part of maintaining a vital thought-life. Unfortunately, however, she also believes some kinds of television (as well as some corners of the internet) are in part responsible for this “dwindling†she mentions:

Television and the computer aren’t the only things that keep us from wholesome literature and imagining for ourselves.

That, there, is Bria's first sentence: A blunt, unproven assertion.

She seems to expect her readers to take it on faith that her claim is correct.