IGNORED

The shit may be hitting the fan for Mormondom too.

uber frau

Just when VF has imploded, and Bill Gothard might find himself being asked some uncomfortable questions by a prosecutor, Thomas S. Monson, President of the COJCOLDS, has been issued a court summons to answer to allegations of fraud in the UK. Tom Phillips, an ex-Mormon who climbed to quite a high rank in the Mormon church in the UK including attaining the second anointing, has filed a case alleging that, as head of the corporation that is the COJCOLDS, Monson made false and misleading claims to ensure financial gain. It seems quite complicated, especially as I have no real knowledge of UK law, but it's seems like it might be worth a watch.

mormonthink.com/

Here's the wiki entry outlining the UK Fraud Act 2006.

The Act gives a statutory definition of the criminal offence of fraud, defining it in three classes - fraud by false representation, fraud by failing to disclose information, and fraud by abuse of position. It provides that a person found guilty of fraud was liable to a fine or imprisonment for up to twelve months on summary conviction (six months in Northern Ireland), or a fine or imprisonment for up to ten years on conviction on indictment. This Act largely replaces the laws relating to obtaining property by deception, obtaining a pecuniary advantage and other offences that were created under the Theft Act 1978. These offences attracted much criticism for their complexity and difficulty in proving at court. Much of the Theft Act 1978 has been repealed, however, the offence of making off without payment, defined under section 3 has not been affected.

"Fraud by false representation" is defined by Section 2 of the Act as a case where a person makes "any representation as to fact or law ... express or implied" which they know to be untrue or misleading.