IGNORED

Would you do reality TV?

DrWhat

Quite unexpectedly, I recently found out that a reality TV show is being filmed at my new job that I am starting in July and they are looking for cast members! The description of the project was sent to a group of us, and out of curiosity I replied in order to figure out what kind of loot they are giving out for the deal. They sent me an application that basically asked extremely in-depth questions about my personal life and how I would describe my personality.

I have already decided that I would never take such a risk as to be broadcast to the public when I am just beginning my career, but I am curious about what some FJers, many of whom are reality TV afficionados, would do in the situation! My rational brain tells me that they are going to do anything to create drama and throw us under the bus, but wouldn't it be fun to sort of manipulate the situation and create a hilarious character?

So I'd like to know, how would each of you try to portray yourself? What would be your signature or catch phrase? To what extent would you be willing to risk being taken seriously in your career for a run on TV? What about revealing deep personal details to the world?

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I dont know...in one of my random fantasies I have 10 kids and a reality show. I dont think I would want to do it in real life though, I am a total introvert and would not like all the recognition.

I think generally my rules for reality shows, especially one with kids in it would be:

The camera does not go in the bathroom. No toilet birthing, anything you do on a toilet is right out.

No exploiting certain situations-no showing terminally ill dying grandparents being exploited for TV, and if a kid gets seriously injured the kid comes first, not the cameras.

Kids should have a choice on what about them is to be shown and anything they are in is with their permission, and if they dont want to be in it, they dont have to.