IGNORED

Large Family Logistics

AnnieC 305

Turns out my library acquired a copy.

I am sorely temped to comment/snark chapter-by-chapter. Anyone interested if I do?

All right, here we go:

For the record she has endorsements from Michelle Duggar and Beall Phillips right here on the cover.

Preface: Why I wrote this book

Many years ago I was the mother of one small baby boy in a little rental house. My husband and I were committed to having me stay at home to raise our little boy. I remember being embarrassed because of the dust, laundry piled up and dirty dishes, and I scrambled to make something for supper just minutes before my hard-working husband came home.

OK, before we go any further, for those who don't know me I've been a housewife myself for ten years this month. While we don't have any children before I retired I was a teacher for ten years, so I do have a background with children.

In her defense I have to say that it took me a few years to really get up to speed on the whole housewife thing. When this is your job you want to do it very well and you end up setting very high standards. It takes a bit of time to find your groove, the level of clean in your house that makes you feel comfortable, the list of recipes that are easy for you and tasty for him, and so on.

That said I am glad that we took a break from trying while I was getting settled. I cannot imagine trying to do all that AND take care of a baby. In fact I'd say taking care of a baby is your primary job at that stage of life and not keeping up is kind of expected. I've always wondered if the reason why so many of these women make taking care of the house such a big, complicated deal is because they are all staring out behind the ball because they have babies right off.