IGNORED

"The problems of women in combat..."

Sumeri

from a "female" combat vet.

westernjournalism.com/the-problems-of-women-in-combat-from-a-female-combat-vet/

Would you all please dissect this for me? There is so much fail in here (esp. the "got herself pregnant" part - last I checked it took an egg and a sperm to make that happen) and my tea party-esque stepson that just posted this on FB needs some good, feminist schooling.

Disclaimer: I am a female enlisted Soldier with almost fifteen years of service in. I have been deployed to a combat zone, I have not actually been in "real" combat (ie, firing at the enemy in danger of my life). Just FYI, neither have a lot of men in the military.

From the article:

Because most women wouldn’t even qualify to be in the military if they didn’t have separate standards. Men and women are different, but those pushing women into combat don’t want to admit that truth. They huff and puff about how women can do whatever men can do, but it just ain’t so. We’re built differently, and it doesn’t matter that one particular woman could best one particular man. The best woman is still no match for the best man, and most of the men she’d be fireman-carrying off the battlefield will be at least 100 lbs heavier than her with their gear on.

Women would have to work a lot harder to meet the male standard. This is true. It would require looking at training a little differently, and maybe get past the whole "females are weaker", as well as looking at ways to measure strength. I am not an expert on any of this, but do pull-ups really matter? The upper-body strength is the biggest issue - I have several female soldiers who can run with some of the best guys, but they also weigh like 120 pounds, so upper body strength = not so much.

The gear is another thing - they currently make it to fit men, and do we need to wear so much/such heavy stuff anyway?