IGNORED

Sexist job skill set?

dairyfreelife

Today, I received a booklet for a community college. It's a workforce development program for this spring. Though I'm in my last semester and don't intend to go for any training, I just wanted to skim the booklet to see what it's offered.

Offered by West Virginia WomenWork!, this training program is designed to prepare women to work in the construction industry as a carpenter's helper. Topics to be studied include: hand and power tools; fasteners; floor framing; roofing; roof framing; windows and doors; sliding; construction math.

They bolded the women in the booklet. To me this is strikingly sexist. Not a carpenter, just a helper and just women can be a helper, not men. The WV women work program claims to bring equality to women, but I don't see this as really helping women at all in matters of equality.

West Virginia Women Work is a statewide nonprofit organization that supports and advocates for the education, employment and economic equity for all women. We achieve this goal through a comprehensive program of recruitment, training, referrals, placements, networking, advocacy, retention activities and public workshops.

Maybe I'm being too picky. What do you think?

Is it a job where men also begin as helper? I know here we have three ranks of carpenter so that sounds like entry level perhaps?

I'm guessing that the non-profit is covering some of the costs students would normally incur and, as such, are limiting enrollment to women. That said, I'm assuming these are skills any entry-level construction worker would need to learn and that the program is helping women get placed as "helpers" so as to learn the trade as an apprentice type thing and eventually become carpenters in their own right (do carpenters have some sort of licensing thing?)

Damnit, I read the title as "SexiEst job skill set"... I never would have clicked on it otherwise. Cry for me.