IGNORED

She hates feminism but still benefits from feminism

lilah

True Femininity is sort of an odd duck in the SAHD movement. She blogs about all the popular SAHD topics but she doesn't live at home, she has a degree and works. I think she is basically twiddling her thumbs doing low paying work until she can meet her prince charming.

Anyway today she acknowledges how she can't be a feminist despite the fact that as a working, post-secondary degree earning, independent living woman she has directly benefited from feminism.

People often say it is hypocritical to be against the Feminist movement while at the same time benefitting from the changes it brought about in the past. After all, I have a college degree, work outside the home, vote, and even wear pants occasionally--all of which I couldn't have done unless the suffragettes and feminists had paved the way for me.

How could I be against Feminism and still do all these things? Couldn't I at least stand in support of First Wave Feminism? The answer, however, remains an unwavering, "No." Just because I vote, attend university, or work outside the home, doesn't mean that I agree with the motivation and attitudes in which Feminists acquired these rights.

Though the rights women now have--working outside the home, going to school, and voting--are not necessarily sinful in and of themselves (though they certainly can be misused or misappropriated), there is an issue, however, in the way that feminists went about taking their rights.

The Feminist movement was rebellious and shockingly indecent to the society of its time. Women were stepping outside their traditional roles, defaming the value in their children and homes, proclaiming that they needed more. That they were discontent, ill-used, and unhappy to be in submission to their husbands.

While it would be one thing to lend approval to this as an unbeliever, it is quite another thing to do so as a Christian.