IGNORED

The Duggar conundrum

flipflop

This is my first time post as a long time lurker. I first caught the Duggar's one Friday evening when my headship was out and I was channel surfing and I was immediately fascinated. My feelings were mixed and I continue to be confused about my feelings for this by this family.

On one hand they are totally mad. 19 kids, how can anyone afford either emotionally or financially to bring up 19 children? They cannot possibly get the attention they need. The gender roles OMG, girls keep house and have babies boys do manly stuff and are in charge. No way on this earth! That make me want to scream, we have fought for centuries for equality and they are just handing every right we have back to men which is a very dangerous road to take. The whole courting and applying to your father bit is just wrong on so many levels. You then decide to marry someone on very short acquaintance with no time alone before you enter into a life long commitment. No chance to check he does not kiss like a wet cloth, then you are expected to jump from no physical intimacy at all to full on sex in one day - that is a recipe for disappointment. Sheltering your children from the big wide world is just ridiculous you need to give them roots AND wings. The rules they live to are so absolute that I am sure any of the children who step over the line will be ostracized. There is also an element of hypocrisy about being on a TV show and then rejecting TV as a medium. And I am genuinely far too modest to have had TV camera's and and crew in the labour room with me. If you will not show your knee or shoulder how on this earth can you show THAT!!! to a camera crew?