IGNORED

Fundie Fiction

Reb009

Has anyone ever written, or thought about writing Fundie-based fiction? I feel like though so many of them have such sad lives, there are novels to be written here about these people. Anyone have thoughts?

I know I'm a newbie, so first post I'll go with the first three paragraphs I just wrote after lurking here for a year. Feel free to rip apart:

It was when Micah was born that Elizabeth first started questioning whether or not children really were a blessing. She’d taken the 6th load of laundry out of the dryer for that day and was folding and hanging all the articles of clothing according to who they belonged to. Girls on the right, on this hanging bar. Boys on the left. That’s how the family closet was structured.

While doing the laundry she’d had a practical thought—more babies, even more laundry. As the second oldest daughter she had a lot of responsibilities, although probably not as many as Leah, her older sister. Although Leah seemed fine with all that she’d been given. Leah handled disciplining and schooling the smallest of the family—Elijah, John and Constance, all under 3, and balanced that with her sewing, cooking of dinner and helping their mother with various odds and ends. Maybe it was her name. How could a Leah be satisfied with anything more than second best. The biblical Leah hadn’t been and who were they to expect better than Bible characters. Those whom God had chosen to write down in His word.

If Elizabeth were to use that logic though, she knew what her fate would be. That of the mother of someone significant. Someone who was significant up to the point where his head appeared on a platter. Significance plummeted at that point. And that wasn’t what Elizabeth wanted, so she shrugged that thought off immediately. Her significance would extend beyond that.