IGNORED

Liar, liar, pants on fire? Atheist Conversion

emmiedahl

I was flipping through the channels early yesterday morning to keep myself awake while I studied. Of course, there was nothing on so I ended up on one of the Christian channels. The host was interviewing a man who is a former lifelong atheist. The former lifelong atheist said that he had always been taught that there is no historic evidence for Jesus as a deity, so his mind was changed when he found places in the book of Mark where Jesus referred to himself as The Son of Man, which was an OT term for the Messiah.

Mmmkay. I have a few questions. First, would an atheist consider the NT a historic source of unbiased information about Jesus? I am a Jew and I certainly would not. Second, would a lifelong atheist know enough about the OT to see the reference to Son of Man and associate it with a Messianic prophecy in the OT? Last, even if we take the NT at face value, why would Jesus *claiming* to be a Messiah mean that he *is* one? And why would that make him a God? If the man was that familiar with the OT, he knows that Jesus did not fulfill prophecies and that the Messiah is not a God anyway.

It was perplexing. So my question is: Do Christians pretend to be former atheists just to get street credit?

It was perplexing. So my question is: Do Christians pretend to be former atheists just to get street credit?

Yes, I feel they do. I see it on some of the IFB forums and it happens frequently.

Lying must be a competitive sport. Do the people on IFB forums admit that they are lying about it or do they keep up the act even among each other?

Even funnier is the assumption that an atheist was just sitting around reading the Bible when he stumbled on the Truth. I am sure atheists incorporate Bible study into their daily routines. :roll: