IGNORED

Fundy adjacent family trees - anyone want to share?

HerNameIsBuffy

Let me preface this by saying I have no knowledge and even less interest in the family trees of the fundies on here so I'm strictly going by name but in the last few months I've made some progress on my trees and discovered that I am both Bontrager (Penna Dutch US line) and Arndt (Germany) adjacent.  

But the reason I am posting this is last weekend I found a Gotthard.  It was a first name, not surname and had the extra T....but if any of my kids ever go mining the old family tree for baby names I will delete that one before letting them log into my ancestry account.

Fun fact....my Gotthard was Catholic.  I bet David Waller felt a shiver right down the pleat of his carefully pressed khakis at the thought of a Catholic Got(t)hard.  

• Upvote 2
  • Haha 4

I'm distantly related to David Daleiden, one the guys behind the Planned Parenthood Sting Videos from a couple of years ago. Prior to all of this he and his family were invited to a big family reunion but luckily none of them showed up. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Daleiden

• Upvote 4

Some of my ancestors came west to join Horace Greeley's utopian Union Colony of Colorado. 

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Colony_of_Colorado

I haven't investigated it very much, but I don't think it was exactly fundy. Just Utopian and big on no drinking aka the "Temperance Movement". Of course, a few generations later, my grandma from that line married my alcoholic grandfather. I guess he might not have been obviously alcoholic yet when they married?

• Upvote 4

Spending another weekend deep in cross-referencing my families based on DNA to try to break a few brick walls and have to add another fundy adjacent name - Keller in Germany.