IGNORED

Battle Cry aka Acquire the Fire

shrewlu

Hbe4Rxj-s4c

Just a brief clip of a CNN video. More of the typical "God Warrior" stuff with the addition of "virtue terrorists" and an intensely creepy guy shouting at kids in the audience who shout back. IMO, it's like Jesus Camp x 10.

Here is their site.

acquirethefire.com/christian-youth-conference-events/battlecry/

They used to be known as Battle Cry, but changed to Acquire the Fire - teenmania.com/donate/buses-acquire-fire/

And lookie here - there's even a site geared towards parents. teenmania.com/

No way in hell I'd let my kid go to one of those events. :snooty:

Things have been a little rocky for Teen Mania and the Honor Academy the last few years. Lots of exposure about the abuse.

recoveringalumni.com/

Edited by Three and Done to correct link. ;)

I'm a newb poster (long time lurker, hey y'all!) that went to Acquire The Fire in high school in the late 1990's. it was not as showy as what it is now. I remember it being a conference that reneregized my shoving my faith down my classmates throats. At the time it was about spreading the gospel message, which seems to be different than what they are doing now. This definitely feels like a more conservative social agenda than what it was back then, which was to make Jesus Freaks more freaky.

This is the internship programme ATF is linked with.

honoracademy.com/intern-life/the-commitment/

If alcohol is totally banned then how do they partake of Holy Communion? *puzzled face*

I saw the documentary/special on one of the cable networks about Teen Maina/AtF and the survivors. It's some scary shit. I work with a guy who was a youth minister and he took his youth group to one of the programs and quickly decided he wouldn't do it again. He said he had figured it out rather quickly that it wasn't what it appeared it be.