IGNORED

Thoughts on "Back in the Day" Fundies and Patriarchy

O Latin

This is my first time starting a topic on the new board. I hope I'm doing it right.

I was thinking about fundies and patriarchal marriages and how they are always claiming that's how it was done "back in the day" and I started wondering if that was really true. I don't know a ton about the history of marriage, but from what I do know, I don't think most marriages would have fit fundie ideals. I especially doubt that there was a whole lot of teaching boys to be good manly men or whatever. I'm sure boys were taught to be strong and provide for their families while girls were taught to be good wives and mothers. But I think the emphasis was probably more on working hard and doing what you needed to do to survive and I think this would be more likely to create partnership type marriages than a lot of people think.

Sort of rambling post. Why does what I want to say always sound so much better in my head than it does when I try to get it down on paper (or screen, as it were)?

I think they've carefully crafted an image of a past they've never experienced in order to better sell their worldview and enable others to think that it can actually be lived. They take certain policies, common notions, mix it in with their own ideals and make it out to be that most everyone lived in this way and quite happily, too.

The problem is is that they don't see humans today and throughout time as individuals within different contexts, but very much in blocks. "All men think this" and "all women think that", for example. To them, the dynamic between a couple and situation in which they may find themselves comes off as strangely uniform. They also don't account for what one could get away with if done discretely, what was unsaid and what went unrecorded (or made apparent in-between the lines), etc. If something is in opposition to their particular view of history, they ignore it or discredit it. Very selective.