IGNORED

Josie on tonight's episode

luckylibrarian

I don't want to Internet diagnose Josie, but I was wondering if anyone knew anything about Josie's gagging problem. The speech language pathologist said that her mouth is very sensitive. Would that be a texture issue or something else?

She seemed to be doing really well. She's a cutie, especially when she talks. I loved watching her play with the boom.

My preemies had a mild gagging issue that resolved by 3-4 months and my nephew that was born at 31 weeks 22 years ago had a sever gagging problem until he was 2-3 years old. I am not a doctor so I can't give you medical reason of why but it seems really common in preemies. You know how you stick something too far back in your mouth and you gag? Well with a preemie that gag spot is much closer to the front of the mouth. I hope someone will be able to explain it better than I did.

I don't want to Internet diagnose Josie, but I was wondering if anyone knew anything about Josie's gagging problem. The speech language pathologist said that her mouth is very sensitive. Would that be a texture issue or something else?

She seemed to be doing really well. She's a cutie, especially when she talks. I loved watching her play with the boom.

I could be abolsutely wrong and I'm by no means qualified in this area, but I suspect it's one of those things that goes along with being a preemie. I had a bad gag reflex until I was about 7 or 8. I couldn't swallow pills or vitamins even and had to have them mashed up in applesauce or jam when liquids weren't available. It's one of those things that becomes better over time. Now it's no longer a problem for me.