IGNORED

Guess what I found thrift-store shopping today? That's right, A GOTHARD BOOK

dawbs

It is filled with....such lovely stuff.20171207_225916.thumb.jpg.4b26db75ebaae6a4ec67cd22e39e2cb5.jpg

Spoiler

20171207_225941.thumb.jpg.14df1c4a12f88d0c0c85aeb03a85464e.jpg

Spoiler

20171207_225923.thumb.jpg.9ecfbb2bbf36fe97b022b8524f63bc2b.jpg

It's a kinda pretty book.  And it won't fall into the wrong (right?) hands at least now.  I'm skimming over it to find what sorts of horrors are buried inside, since I've just started.

Oh wow. Not that I’m an IBLP expert but I’m sure you’re in for quite the ride. Everything about ATI and IBLP screams CULT CULT CULT to me.

I’ve seen one of those at a thrift store too, although I didn’t buy it. I seem to recall that Gothard made seminar participants promise not to copy or share the materials he gave them and now they’re showing up on eBay and in thrift stores. I guess there’s no way to enforce this rule other than to scare people into submission, so when they become disillusioned with Gothard they have no problem giving his books away.

2 minutes ago, Flossie said:

You'd think that someone coming out of the cult would burn the books rather than risk the possibility of someone else being drawn in.

My parents donated a whole lot of their crap when they finally left. I wish I had got hold of the medical journals because those things are a hoot. 

@dawbs, you will have to do a review for us. I haven't looked through those things in years and I bet there is all sorts of crazy. 

If I ever see one of those books in a thrift store, I am positive I would buy it. I don't want anyone else getting their hands on that destructive book and I would be interested in thumbing through it. If I ever wanted rid of it, I would shred it.

35 minutes ago, formergothardite said:

My parents donated a whole lot of their crap when they finally left. I wish I had got hold of the medical journals because those things are a hoot.