IGNORED

Vision Forum Property

justlurking

As I was googling info on Vision Forum tonight I came across this Ministry Watchmen thread where a poster provided property info on Vision Forum Ministries--most interestingly, on a piece of property that could be Dougie's house. If you go to this website and type "Vision Forum Ministries" into the search box you will get three listings. The first, appears to be for the house. The second appears to be a gymnasium of some sort--which I'm guessing is the VF warehouse. The third appears to just list upgrades to the house.

I'm not very good at deciphering such information, but the house's value appears to be rather low for all the amenities and improvements it has (pool included). When I look up the address on google maps the house appears to be rather large and certainly looks more than what it's currently valued at.

Is Texas really affordable or something? I'm from New Jersey and you practically couldn't get a townhouse for the price of Dougie's "mansion".

*Special thanks to raineymott for showing me how to hyperlink! :bow-yellow:

Real estate values in Texas are low, certainly much lower than NJ. Not sure if a place with an indoor pool would be in line with this or not since I also live in a land of god-awful property values (Ca)

Yes, you can get a house like that for that price in Texas. The house may be worth even more, and the price seen may just be tax value.

The house appears to be 3500 square feet with a 1712 square foot "enclosure". And a pool. And a greenhouse. And sits 9/10ths of an acre. And has a whopping property tax bill. Texans like to talk about how they don't pay state income tax...well, this property has an $11,756.00/year bill.

Oh yeah, and most people in Texas don't and can't live like this.

The "gymnasium" has a $23,000 tax bill, but because VF is presumably a 501©3, there's not a penny due. Yes, you too are helping support VF with your tax dollars. PFFFFTH.