IGNORED

Straight From the Horse's Mouth-ish - Jesus Says

Cassandra

2e5s77o.jpg

Has anyone posted this before?

I think certain fundies would benefit from looking at it, not that they would ever believe it.

Yeah, that second paragraph in particular is a bunch of bunk.

I'm not terribly familiar with the New (or old) Testament. What does Jesus actually say about divorce?

I'm not terribly familiar with the New (or old) Testament. What does Jesus actually say about divorce?

I'm not either, because I think the Bible is a bunch of bunk too! But if whoever made this thing was trying to make it sound like Jesus was some totally cool, tolerant guy, they failed. Saying that divorced people are adulterers is stupid.

It's satire. The entire point is to mock those that pick and choose from the bible.

I'm not saying I agree with everything written on the image, just that i found it funny.

I'm no bible expert, but I do believe that divorce was ok in many situations - that's part of the old testament law that was undone. If someone can actually site verses, that would be pretty helpful. I don't even know where to start looking for a bible in our house....

Here's something from Matthew 5:31-32 --KJV:

31It hath been said, Whosoever shall put away his wife, let him give her a writing of divorcement:

32But I say unto you, That whosoever shall put away his wife, saving for the cause of fornication, causeth her to commit adultery: and whosoever shall marry her that is divorced committeth adultery.

And Mark 10:

And the Pharisees came to him, and asked him, Is it lawful for a man to put away his wife? tempting him.

3And he answered and said unto them, What did Moses command you?

4And they said, Moses suffered to write a bill of divorcement, and to put her away.

5And Jesus answered and said unto them, For the hardness of your heart he wrote you this precept.

6But from the beginning of the creation God made them male and female.