IGNORED

What made you turn to/away from religion?

browngrl

<>

post-257-14452000009716_thumb.jpg

I saw this on Reddit and I started to think about what has turned me away from religion. I have always found religion interesting and have done a lot of reading and have tried out several churches/temples to see if one was right for me. At some point every religion I studied started to feel "wrong" to me. Some religious ideas even appalled me. Sometimes I did find some good things in the religions I studied but there was always something that seemed mean spirited/cruel/silly to me. I find that I can not just accept the good parts of a religion without also being forced to condone the parts I feel are wrong - and I just can't accept that. Now I am still interested in religion but I can not believe in God at all. For me, the tipping point in my study of Christianity was the story of Abraham and his son. I just can not find it in my heart or mind to worship a God that would dare ask someone to sacrifice his son.

On the other hand, I have two friends who have turned to religion. In both cases the people lost a child and found solace in religion and now are really quite religious.

If you have ever changed your ideas about religion - what made you turn to or away from religion or God?

edit: I can't seem to get the image from reddit on this page - here is the link: http://imgur.com/YXlYY

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply