IGNORED

Teaching 2yos to Memorize Scripture

dairyfreelife

Jacinda at Growing Home is forcing teaching her 2yo to memorize scripture assuming her toddler will remember it and understand what it means. For some strange reason I'm thinking little Charity will end up an atheist, looking back at these posts where she knew all this scripture as a child and it didn't make a damn difference. I could memorize entire books (short children's books, not Bible books) at age two, it's not weird for a 2yo to have great memory skills. It doesn't prove they understand anything they're reciting however.

growinghomeblog.com/2012/05/teaching-children-to-memorize-scripture_17.html

This is nonsense. I used to be a preschool teacher, and sure the kids can parrot back things or memorize short bits of text, but there's no way that they'd be able to understand it. I started reading at age 3 but didn't gain elementary school reading comprehension til age 4 or 5, and I think that's the base level of reading skills necessary to understand even the simplest pieces of scripture (when written in a plain, modern format, not KJV).

Dougie is quite into this also, he has plenty of video of his daughter Virginia at age 2ish reciting some KJV scripture in her baby voice.

I follow Jacinda's blog and that post made me laugh out loud. 1) she assumes every two year old has the same level of verbal skills as her 2yr old - at that age kids' verbal skills still vary pretty significantly and there's a good chance a lot of little ones couldn't repeat back such long and complicated verses. 2) does she really think the kid understands words like iniquity? Purged? LoL. I would love to hear her kid spontaneously use those words in the correct context. Sure she can repeat them back but she likely has no concept of what they mean.

I've never understood the point of rote memorization. Wouldn't it be better to read the kid stories from a children's bible or something?

Edited riffles