IGNORED

Any gardeners out there?

Frumpalicious

I started my garden a week ago. I have tomatoes, garden beans (I have no idea what they are, but the packet promised they'd only grow to 18'' tall!), jalapeno peppers, bell peppers, garlic, chives, basil, and tarragon. I'm completely new to this, and no amount of googling will ease my anxiety. :lol:

We don't have "full" sunshine (as in sunlight beating down all day), but we do have bright light that comes in around the edges of the balcony. If that makes any sense at all. Should I buy a full spectrum light, just in case?

Is it safe to use regular potting soil on plants I'll be eating? All of my plants are going to be in pots, by the way. We live on the second floor of an apartment building.

My friend also told me to not worry about watering the peppers so much. She told me that "stressing" the plant would make the peppers spicier. How dry should I let the soil get between waterings? Can I keep my peppers next to the garlic? What about strawberries? As I was checking out at the Home Depot, the gentleman at the register told me not to plant them next to one another. :( One website said that the garlic would repel most insects.

And what about squirrels? Is there a humane way to keep them away from my plants when they start growing fruit?

And one more little thing. Can I grow lettuce in a bucket? The websites I went to said that lettuce doesn't have much by way of roots, so any 6'' deep container would do. I didn't even know lettuce had roots until that moment. I felt really dumb. :oops:

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply