IGNORED

Human Engineering & Climate Change

Soldier of the One

Although I am not an expert on 'transhumanism' and such, I found this (bizarre) article in The Atlantic arguing in favor of 'human [genetic] engineering' in order to prevent/reduce climate change.

It is pretty obvious that taking good care of the environment is a value in and of itself. The proposals in this article, however, I found deeply troubling. Some examples of proposed human engineering:

- Cat-like eyes to see in the dark

- Designing a pill to induce mild nausea upon meat consumption

- Bio-engineering smaller children (!)

- A 1-child policy like that of China for here in the West

- Chemically-induced altruism

Here's the link: http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/a ... ge/253981/

What do you all think?

So obviously humans cannot be trusted to act responsibly for the benefit of the planet and must be altered? It makes as much sense to me as the claim that men have no self-control over their libidos and therefore women must wear denim frumpers with white tennis shoes.

It IS of course patently ridiculous. I thought it was horrid but wanted to see if others shared that opinion.

The scary part is that this patently ridiculous idea is being trumpeted by Real Scientists.

It seems they want to play "God" and it can only blow up in their faces. Haven't they ever watched the SyFy channel?!!!11?!

We can't even agree that stem cell research is necessary and ethical, let alone bio-engineering. If the prevention and treatment of disease is "shouted down" in the manner it has been (and will continue to be, thanks to the anti-choice crowd), genetic engineering has not a snowball's chance in hell of ever being considered (even for truly important reasons).