IGNORED

Stop Sugarcoating the Bible!

gustava

I'm a bible college graduate, :oops:, and one of the many things in the bible that put me on the road to atheism was the verse in the book of Joshua where god tells them to hamstring their enemies horses.

I heard a preacher say once that was equivalent to letting the air out of tires.

Umm, no. It isn't.

I'm a bible college graduate, :oops:, and one of the many things in the bible that put me on the road to atheism was the verse in the book of Joshua where god tells them to hamstring their enemies horses.

I heard a preacher say once that was equivalent to letting the air out of tires.

Umm, no. It isn't.

I became uncomfortable with lots of things about religions of all stripes, but yes that is something that bothered me.

So what was his point in all that? to show that the Abrahamic religion is a terrible religion from its creation?

The article was apparently written by a Christian so acknowledging the bad parts did not ruin his faith.

Umm, no. It isn't.

It is...in that is makes it harder for the enemies to get around. But it's not because letting the air out of the tires not only doesn't permanently damage, but doesn't torture living creatures. That piece there is god acting like a snotty preteen brat. "Hey, let's switch the sugar with salt and blame it on someone else! *snicker*"

The thing that horrified me the most about the Bible is when the horrors were mentioned casually. The way that virgin girls were literally counted as spoils of war among cattle, gold, etc was just really horrifying. It wasn't even something that they called attention to because it was just taken for granted that women would be worth nothing more than property. War and genocide are terrible, but at least it's done during extreme emotions. The way they treated women just an everyday fact of life. I just can't even imagine it.