IGNORED

C Jane 43 weeks preggo?

NothingLeftToLose

C Jane apparently is 43-44 weeks preggo or something like that. C Jane is the sister of nie.nie - (both LDS princess fundie lite mommy bloggers) Does anyone follow her blog?

I am a nurse and for the life of me I can't figure out why she is just acting like the baby will just fall out whenever it is ready. There are some serious risks to post date babies. I can't remember if she is a homebirther or not?

Is the low/no intervention for post dates normal for LDS?

• Replies 113
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't know if it's normal for LDS. Due dates are just an estimate, so she might not be 43 weeks. But if she's being watched by a midwife or OBGYN, and things still look OK, I don't see what the harm is. It's when the fluid levels drop, and the placenta starts to degrade is when it gets scary.

Family lore has it that I was due July 31st, and I wasn't born until August 23- after 36 hours of active labor. My own Mom, born in the 50's, was reportedly due at the end of May, but wasn't born until July 6th- my grandmother's doctor was shocked when my grandmother showed up at the hospital in labor, because he thought she had just delivered at another hospital more than a month earlier.

Isn't Nie.nie the lady who was in a horrible plane crash and c.jane is her sister who took care of her kids while she was in the hospital?

IIRC c.jane was sort of bitchy about that whole situation and put off a lot of people.

As for her way overdue baby...I don't understand why some women take this sort of risk. Of course, my babies always come early so I guess I've never been in the situation. I just can't imagine anything more devestating than having my baby die because I wouldn't be induced.