IGNORED

Someone explain Kelly's logic, please

aggythenostic

As a college teacher, I'm increasingly frustrated with the attitude that 'public schooling' isn't that great, and kids aren't learning much, so why not dismantle it? [i'm not claiming perfection, mind you, but really?] But Kelly seems to go one step further with the attitude that if you're simply AROUND your children, they will magically learn the entire school system's resources!

When children have a good grasp of the way language “soundsâ€, simply from partaking in good, consistent conversation, the nuts and bolts of grammar come more easily and can be postponed until children have a better understanding of abstract concepts.

By the way, when I entered my first year teaching high school students, I was prepared to only review grammar and focus on literature. To my surprise, most of the class–about 85%, didn’t even have a basic grasp of grammatical structure and could not pick out the basic parts of speech. Which may have been OK if they could construct a good sentence, but alas, they could not. So don’t worry so much about “being behind the average school childâ€

Giving attention to our conversations lets us find ways to introduce new words and ideas in a very natural, but “sticky†way (meaning, it is more likely “to stickâ€). Look for conversation starters. Often, it comes from a child’s question, usually in abundance throughout the day.

It seems like she's super-tired and she doesn't feel like teaching anymore. So she - and all the Kelly Lites - have convinced themselves that there is no need for it. And is not being higher than an average Alabama school child something to shoot for?

http://www.generationcedar.com/main/201 ... l#comments

That is a Charlotte Mason concept.

I'm not necessarily defending it, but it is probably best interpreted in light of Charlotte Mason's overall educational theories.

That is a Charlotte Mason concept.