IGNORED

Dumb Priorities - a Rant - WBC

Burris

I've been keeping track of the Westboro Baptist Church for five years now. As some of you may know, I maintain a website devoted to defending unpopular speech – and particularly the unpopular speech of WBC members. (Heh. There are quite a few people who don't like me. Go figure.)

Anyway, the WBC has been described variously as a fanatical cult (kinda true), a hate-group (entirely true), and even (incorrectly) as an IRL troll group that survives off the money from law suits.

All regular attendees of the Westboro Baptist Church, including young children, engage in picketing activities. Some go far afield while others stay within the vicinity of Topeka, Kansas, where the church is based.

Now, an interesting thing to note about the WBC and its members is that almost all of them are well-educated. The kids attend public school. They take in whatever media they choose. The church, being Hyper-Calvinist, believes media exposure won't hurt those who have been raised to be faithful just so long as they're among the Elect – and the non-Elect would fall away regardless of media exposure.

Only a few of them have chosen to leave the church. Most stay, and stay faithful.

While I disagree with nearly everything the WBC does, that's one thing member parents seem to do right: They teach their kids religious doctrine and have absolute faith this doctrine will stick even in the face of outside influence. That is how strongly they believe in their cause. That is how strongly they believe in their God.

Whenever I come across fundies that shelter their children like hot-house flowers, I can't help but to compare them unfavorably to members of the Westboro Baptist Church.