IGNORED

Cat training question!

Hane

Hi! Cat newbie here. I am now the long-term foster auntie to Asher The Kitty, a dark gray mixed breed about five years old. He is a darn near perfect cat: not destructive, doesn’t climb on things or knock them over, gets along with everyone, is healthy, isn’t a picky eater, an overall delight—except for one thing:

(gross-out warning)

He almost consistently poops right next to his litter box, instead of in it. (He pees in the litter box like a champ.) I have been putting down a puppy training pad next to his litter box, and now he always poops on it, considerately folding over the pad to cover his mess and making it easy for me to clean up.

I’ve tried everything I can think of: scooping out his litter box one or twice a day, changing litter brands. My niece (his real mom, who got him from a cat rescue about a year ago) had the same trouble and no success either. She suspects this is the reason he was re-homed. (Former owner claimed he didn’t get along with their other cat, which is most likely baloney, because the cat rescue people loved him and were sad to see him go.) She tried spritzing him when he did this, but admits it’s almost impossible to catch him in the act.

Any ideas?

Clean the mess immediately and scoop the pan as soon as he does anything in it.  You might try a second littler pan.  I thought the vet was crazy, but apparently some cats will only do one kind of business per pan.  It worked for us with that cat unless another cat left urine in the pan.  

Have you tried the attractant spray?  It's supposed to attract the cat to the pan.

Dr. Elsey's litter if you haven't tried it.  Pricey, but wonderful.  It worked like a charm on one of ours.