IGNORED

Maxwell 46: Relegating the Kids' Table to the Vestibule

Coconut Flan

Continued from here:

The "extended family" has gotten large enough that this past holiday season, the Maxwells even put a table in the front hall.  It may be time to settle for dessert only gatherings.

• Upvote 8
  • Thank You 4
  • Love 5

Re: Sarah's concussion...

Concussion healing isn't an instantaneous thing. I think from the fact that they quoted the doctor saying "3-6 months" they realize this. But...

I'm a teacher. Concussion protocols have become a really big deal in recent years. I've seen students get authorization to wear baseball caps and sunglasses all day for months after a concussion. A concussion stays in a student's profile for years afterward because the effects can linger. And one of the biggest things I have heard about concussion treatment is that people with concussions really need to stay away from screens while they're healing. All screens. But Sarah was writing/editing a book. She was pushing to make deadlines. Was she able to really rest from screens? I don't know. And someone in the previous thread mentioned Bible time. As someone who grew up in a fairly legalistic fundie environment, I know I dealt with a lot of guilt when I tried to manage my time well by listening to an audio Bible on my commute instead of sitting down and READING my print Bible. It didn't feel like it actually "counted" as Bible time. (I recently learned that the term for this sort of OCD is "scrupulosity," and it sounds a lot like Steve's thought process.) Would Steve be okay with Sarah doing her individual Bible time via an audio Bible? As someone in the other thread asked, would he allow her to sleep in to get the additional rest a concussion recovery requires? I kind of don't think so. He regards Bible reading as more important than eating food. And all of the WFH jobs we know she and her sisters do or have done (bookkeeping, IT support) seem to involve being online. Again...screen