IGNORED

Am I Wrong?

NoKidsAndCounting

Hello, all.  I am not even sure if I should post this in here, but I honestly wasn't sure where to post this, so I apologize in advance if it's not the right place.  I am looking for opinions to see if I overreacted to the situation I am about to describe. 

A little background - I work as a department assistant at a law school and assist multiple professors (20 years on the job).  My job has changed a little since COVID-19, but I'm grateful to be working at all right now.  At any rate, I now work with and for a lot more people than ever before because our jobs were consolidated to save money.  Because of this, I don't know several of the people I assist very well, despite having been at the school for so many years. 

About 10 days ago, a professor approached me at the last minute and was frantic for me to help him format and print letters, and I was able to do this before leaving for the day.  He hadn't seen me in a long time because we're only physically in the office two days a week.  I've always known him to be a friendly person when I've seen him casually and in group interactions.  He asked me how I was doing.  This was a loaded question (he didn't know) because he hadn't seen me since March.  I lost a dear friend and co-worker in late August who was also a faculty support assistant. Her name was Deborah.  Deborah had a really good and friendly relationship with "Prof. G" over the years, as I had seen them talking together a lot.  

I told him that I was really struggling at work without Deborah and that I missed her terribly.  I did tear up a little bit and get somewhat choked up.  He said he missed her too and then left my desk.

Today, he asked me to help him again.  I work from home on Fridays, so I would need to do everything remotely, but he didn't realize that.  He asked me what time he should come in to see me and he then told me in an email, "I miss Deborah, but let's keep it light at the office."