IGNORED

The Niednagels' Brain Types System

Khendra

Yes, have to admit that I studied this arcane subject for many years.  I have the types of thousands of people memorized, and I still can't get away from finding myself trying to assess the types of people I meet IRL.

First heard about it in 1997 when he worked with the Phoenix Suns basketball team, started following the web site in 2000-2001, was their biggest fan for about ten or so years, but started to distance myself -- while noticing he really started to go off the deep end with it -- in the early 2010s.

Originally, before the family got swallowed up in smug Vision Forum Calvinistic and ATI/Gothard legalistic arrogance (which they've always cleverly hid from the sports public, if not their public social media presence), it was an interesting hypothesis with some truth to it, and Jon Niednagel (JN) was humble enough (back then, certainly not NOW) to not go too far outside the boundaries of sports when applying it.  The basic idea behind Brain Types is that the 16 Myers-Briggs types are actually legit, but that they are not personalities so much as neuroscientific types that dictate some observable elements of mental and motor skills in the populace.

I do think a lot of his categorizations make some sense, more or less.  For example, he has LeBron James and Magic Johnson as FEAR/ESFP.  This Brain Type is outgoing, smiles a lot, and is gross motor skilled with great peripheral vision.  Even novice basketball fans can usually see a lot of similarity between James and Johnson, and it's interesting the two are getting a lot great in LA now that LeBron has taken his talents to Hollywood.  Contrast James with Michael Jordan, whose athleticism was more of the hand-eye coordination sort, and whose inner fire and competitiveness was greater than either Johnson or James.  This is because Jordan is a different type, BEIR/ISTP.