IGNORED

I am a Mormon!

FundiesInMyFamily

It seems the LDS Church is doing some PR and/or recruiting. For the last couple of days (on pretty mainstream stations) I've been seeing these commercials - they show shiny happy people going about their lives; one lady says "I am a wife.... I am a teacher... I am a mother", and at the end of the commercial they all exclaim "I am a Mormon!" and then they show the addy to some website in big characters across the screen. They are very slick, well produced commercials. Surprisingly, I've seen it 4 times already this morning just watching the Early Show.

Anyone else been seeing these?

Edited because its early and I can't spell!

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

They started quite a while ago. Youtube has them as paid advertisements, and I see them often when we're looking through CCM/gospel listings.

They started quite a while ago. Youtube has them as paid advertisements, and I see them often when we're looking through CCM/gospel listings.

I just see them ALL THE TIME on YouTube. I have no idea what I'm searching that brings them up.

I see those on TV sometimes, but I live in Idaho, so Mormon commercials don't seem all that strange to me.

*waves at O Latin* I'm in Idaho too! I'm still surprised that in four years here I have yet to get any missionaries. Not that I mind, I'm just surprised.

Now, not to diss your run-of-the-mill Mormon, but if the church feels they need a big PR campaign proclaiming their normalcy...that's a bit weird. My perception is that the people at the top of the organization are more than a little totally out of touch, probably partly due to a dire lack of diversity in their ranks.

I live in Arizona, right in the middle of Mormon land. We get the missionary boys at the door all the time (and they totally make me feel defrauded, let me tell you).