IGNORED

Lori Alexander Blog Post 4-6-18 Dead While She Lives

Comments on two of her posts:

The nonsense about searching the Bible constantly for "how to live": First of all, the Bible is not a how to manual for life. That was one of the things that bothered me the most during my time in the evangelical world. You can't use a text written in ancient times to tell you how to live daily life now. Doing so requires an absurd amount of mental gymnastics. Believe me, I know this. (Sorry for the repetition, but it is my best example) I once sat through a two hour Christian school teachers meeting debating which colors of nail polish the Bible allows. But beyond the legalism and absurdity, a mature Christian should come to the point where they have a well formed conscience and understand moral living without constantly needing to search. That is an actual teaching in the Catholic church. The nun I student taught with pounded that into me when I was an evangelical college student--that all the fruitless searching for the right answer can be counter-productive because what we should really seek is to develop a mature conscience that answers that for us. In later years, I saw that she was more than right. Searching for an answer in the Bible to every question just causes legalism and confusion. Developing a mature moral conscience allows you to live your life. It occurred to me not long before I converted that the very devout evangelicals I knew wore their faith like a sandwich sign while the very devout Catholics I knew lived it out as a core part of their being. (Please don't come at me with flame throwers, I know that there can be people in other faith traditions in both categories--and my Protestant grandparents were in the latter--but in my years in evangelical world I, unfortunately, never met anyone in the second).